爱与改写历史的刺杀

Franz Ferdinand anf his wife (1914)
下载导游书和画册
12. 3. 2014

在第一次世界大战前,发现永恒的爱与反抗的故事!

弗兰兹·费迪南德·埃斯特(František Ferdinand d’Este),最后一位座落于中波希米亚州 王子打猎宫殿(Konopiště)的主人,书写了欧洲历史不可磨灭的一页。1914628日他和妻子索菲·霍泰克Sophie Chotek)在萨拉热窝被刺杀。惨剧引发了第一次世界大战,距今正好100周年。

弗兰兹·费迪南德·埃斯特(František Ferdinand d’Este(1863–1914)在当时属于欧洲最高等级的贵族,是欧洲最富裕的男人之一,他曾走遍全世界并投入了一生的热情在他的爱好上,狩猎。转折点出现在1896年,那年他的父亲去世,从那一刻起弗兰兹费迪南备受瞩目:他成为了奥匈帝国及波希米亚的王位继承人。

别将您的鼻子放到别人的颈饰里!

王位继承人一般不能为所欲为地做他们想做的事情,但是弗兰兹费迪南却不止一次地向皇帝展示了,他有自己的主见并且将那些来自皇宫的命令扔到脑后。这些随意性的典型例子,让皇上到死亡都恨得牙痒痒的是他对配偶的选择

索菲·霍泰克(Sophie Chotek)虽然属于捷克的贵族,并且她的家谱可以追溯到13世纪,但是当时大家认为王位继承人结婚的对象应该是皇家或公爵的女儿,却绝对不是伯爵家的。所以没有什么奇怪的,这两个人着急地掩饰他们之间的关系。1898年丑闻爆发了,当时索菲是伊萨贝拉女大公的伺女。伊萨贝拉女大公以为王位继承人经常性地到访只有唯一的理由:弗兰兹费迪南对她其中一个女儿感兴趣。有一天她找到了王位继承人的颈饰,无法抗拒自己的好奇心 – 在里面她却找到了一个普通伺女索菲的画像。皇宫一下子全乱套了:女大公立刻赶走了索菲,皇帝也警告他们,如果他们两个当真要在一起,他们的孩子将失去王位继承权。弗兰兹费迪南同意了。惊讶万分的皇帝给了他一年的时间考虑,结果什么都没有改变。婚礼是1900年在北波希米亚州雷希施塔特(Zákupy/Reichstadt)宫殿内举行的,但是唯一参加婚礼的皇族是弗兰兹费迪南的后母和她的女儿们。

从王子打猎宫到萨拉热窝

经过多年的麻烦,弗兰兹费迪南与索菲及他们的三个孩子最终幸福地生活在他们的几个领地上,王子打猎宫殿(Konopiště),经过改建,其成为了当时最现代也最优雅的宫殿之一。大公在这里配备了许多精美的古董家具意大利油画收藏,狩猎奖杯及军械库,在欧洲找不到类似的,大公还在附近建造了公园和观赏园林。

虽然皇帝后来的态度稍微溶化了一些并给索菲封了公爵的称号,但这还是不足以平衡两人的地位悬殊。皇宫里的所有人夸张地忽略她,在公众面前,她不能坐在自己的丈夫的旁边也不能陪伴他甚至去别国出访。而命运的讽刺就在于,他们终于能够一起做一次官方的出访时,却是1914年他俩致命的萨拉热窝之旅, 在6月28日被刺杀而中止。

他们在维也纳的葬礼也是不平等的:索菲的棺木上没有放女公爵的徽章,只有扇子和手套,也就是伺女的象征,同时她的棺木比她丈夫的棺木更矮。他们被葬在奥地利阿茨特宫殿Schloss Artstetten的家族陵墓里。

历史与军事演习

今年的一整年王子打猎宫与附近的贝纳肖夫镇将进行纪念这对引人瞩目的夫妇的活动。其中一个高潮会是名为“我的人民1914 – 贝纳肖夫2014”的军事历史俱乐部国际大会,从5月30日到6月1日在贝纳肖夫镇及其附近举行。估计会有来自40个捷克,斯洛伐克,波兰,斯洛文尼亚和德国的军事历史俱乐部中的250名士兵参加。

收藏夹

Love and an Assassination that Changed History

Franz Ferdinand anf his wife (1914)
Download guides and brochure
12. 3. 2014

Discover a story of undying love and defiance that preceded the First World War.

Franz Ferdinand d’Este, the last private owner of the Konopiště Castle lying in Central Bohemia, has indelibly impacted European history. He died along with his wife Sophie Chotek on June 28, 1914, in Sarajevo. That tragic event was one of the causes of the First World War, which this year will be over 100 years old.

Franz Ferdinand d’Este (1863-1914), belonged to the highest level of the European nobility in his time, was one of the richest men in Europe, traveled around the world and devoted himself to his greatest passion, hunting. A turning point came in 1896, when his father died and Franz Ferdinand, from that moment on, found himself under great scrutiny: he became the heir to the Austro-Hungarian and Czech throne.

Don't stick your nose into other people’s medallions!

Successors to the throne usually can’t just do whatever they want, but Franz Ferdinand showed the Emperor more than once that he was his own man and threw the commands from the Imperial Palace to the wayside. A perfect example of his willfulness, which drove the Emperor mad up until his death, was the choice of his wife.

Although Sophie Chotek was a member of the Czech aristocracy and her family tree extended all the way back to the 13th century, the heir to the throne was expected to marry a daughter of a king or prince, most definitely not a Countess. It is not surprising then that the two anxiously guarded their relationship. Scandal erupted in 1898, when Sophie was the lady-in-waiting for the Archduchess Isabella. She explained her frequent visits to the heir of the throne in the only way possible: Franz Ferdinand was interested in one of her daughters. One day, she found the heir’s medallion, and could not resist her curiosity — and inside she found a portrait of the ordinary Lady-in-waiting Sophie. All hell broke loose on the Imperial Court: The Archduchess immediately released Sophie, and the Emperor threatened that if those two happened to be serious, he would exclude their children from the right to the throne. Franz Ferdinand agreed with that. The surprised Emperor gave him a year to think it over, but nothing changed. The wedding took place in 1900 in North Bohemia at the castle in Zákupy, however the only member of the imperial family, who attended the celebration, was Ferdinand's stepmother and her daughters.

From Konopiště to Sarajevo

After many years of intrigue and troubles, Franz and Sophie and their three children lived happily on a few estates, in particular at the Konopiště Castle, which after renovation was transformed into one of the most elegant and most modern castles of the monarchy in that period. The Archduke furnished his residence with magnificent, antique furniture, a collection of Italian paintings, hunting trophies and an arsenal, which has no equivalent in Europe. In the surrounding area he had a park and ornamental gardens built.

Although the Emperor later softened up a bit and elevated Sophie Chotek to the level of a Duchess, it still wasn’t enough for her equalization. The Imperial Court pompously ignored her and in public she was never allowed to sit next to her husband nor did she accompany him on foreign trips. Ironically, the first official state trip, on which they were allowed to ride together, was precisely that fateful journey to Sarajevo in 1914, which ended in the assassination on June 28.

They weren't even equal at the Vienna funeral: the insignia of a Duchess wasn’t put on Sophie’s coffin, but only a fan and gloves, the emblem of a lady-in-waiting, and stood lower than her husband's coffin. They are buried in the family tomb at the Austrian Castle of Artstetten.

Military-Historical maneuvers

Throughout this year at the Konopiště Castle and nearby Benešov, commemorative events of this remarkable couple are taking place. One of the highlights will be an international gathering of military history clubs "My peoples 1914 – Benešov 2014", which will take place from May 30 to June 1 in Benešov and its surrounding area. The arrival of about 250 soldiers from 40 military-historical clubs from the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Slovenia and Germany is expected.

Your favourites