社会主义现实主义建筑

Ostrava
11. 10. 2013

纪念性、历史真实性、对称、装饰性以及充满斯大林主义的意识形态,这就是社会主义现实主义风格,也称为 Sorela。

Sorela,其含义是“社会主义现实主义风格的建筑”,指起源于 20 世纪中叶的建筑物。它们有统一的俄罗斯风格外观,这在当时代表完美的巅峰。Sorela 主要应用于新城镇:克拉德诺、卡尔维纳、哈维若夫和俄斯特拉发。

Sorela和俄斯特拉发-波鲁巴 (Poruba)

斯大林巴洛克,又称 Sorela,将忧郁的苏联建筑师带到捷克。共产主义时代的正式风格主要体现在波鲁巴区俄斯特拉发。街道和广场的设计都是规则的直角。各区的大小相同,几乎都是封闭的、有大庭院的浅沙色住宅楼群,这就是典型的俄罗斯市区。Sorela建筑的特色就是一组重复的真实或假想的古典圆柱、三角形或阶梯式山墙,以及建筑物正面的历史元素,以此庆祝战后一个新国家的成立。但 Sorela 并不都是灰暗的;也有阳光的一面,比如宽敞的林荫大道大量的绿色植物,以及传统的街区。在俄斯特拉发-波鲁巴居住肯定比在预制屋住宅区生活更愉快。

Sorela 之布拉格

布拉格也有 Sorela 的存在之地,其中最著名的建筑是位于波德巴巴 (Podbaba)皇冠假日酒店。酒店按莫斯科 7个纪念性建筑物以缩小比例建造,曾由当时的政府直接接管,作为华沙的文化和科学宫。它是当时最大的塔式建筑,88 米高,共 16 层,于 1954 年完工。另外一个建筑代表属 Sorela 后期,即瓦茨拉夫广场上的雅尔塔酒店。然而,在其豪华的酒店内部,却没有一丝Sorela 的痕迹。

收藏夹

Socialist Realist architecture

Ostrava
13. 2. 2014

Monumental, historicist, symmetrical, decorative and full of Stalinist ideology – this is Socialist Realism, or ‘sorela’.

Sorela, a word based on the term Socialist Realism in architecture, denotes buildings built in the mid-20th century. These buildings had a uniform look, in the Russian style, which represented the then-peak of perfection. Sorela was mainly applied in newer towns: Kladno, Karviná, Havířov and Ostrava.

Sorela and Ostrava-Poruba

The Stalin Baroque, a.k.a. sorela, brought to the Czech Republic the abject taste of second-rate Soviet architects. The official style of the Communist era was applied chiefly in the Ostrava borough of Poruba. The ground plan of streets and squares forms a regular pattern full of right angles. Blocks of flats are of the same height and form virtually closed complexes of residential buildings of light sand colour, with the large courtyards typical of Russian urban buildings. The sorela style includes a number of actual or implied Classicist columns and triangular or stepped gables, as well as historicising elements on the facades of buildings, celebrating national motifs and the building of a new country. Despite this, sorela does not have only negative aspects; the positive aspects include spacious boulevards, sufficient greenery and a traditional system of street blocks. Life in Ostrava-Poruba is definitely more pleasant than, say, on high-rise housing estates.

Sorela in Prague

Sorela also found its way to Prague, where the best-known example of the style is the Hotel Crowne Plaza in Podbaba. The hotel, which was built under the direct supervision of the government of the time, was, like the Palace of Culture and Science in Warsaw, a smaller copy of seven similar monumental buildings in Moscow. The largest tower-like structure of the time, it is 88 metres tall, has sixteen floors and was completed in 1954. An example of the later sorela period is Hotel Jalta on Wenceslas Square; in its luxury interiors you won’t, however, find a trace of the style.

Your favourites