Architecture of the Communist era

Television transmitter on Ještěd Mountain
9. 10. 2013

Для кого-то унылая бетонная серость, для кого-то экзотика полная интересных контрастов - какие здания напоминают коммунистическую эпоху?

В период между концом Второй мировой войны и бархатной революцией в 1989 году были построены весьма известные здания, а также такие, которых лучше бы вообще не было. К тем первым относится, например, телебашня на горе Йештед или здание ресторана "Экспо 58", к тем другим - постройки без очарования, скучные и бессмысленные.

Панельные дома и Дворец культуры

Больше всего панельные высотки и обширные жилые массивы видны на окраинах городов. Они получили нелестные прозвища, например бетонные джунгли или стальные города. А найти в Чехии город, где нет хотя бы одного высотного знания - это просто чудо. К сожалению, эти конструкции чрезвычайно прочные, и будут здесь с нами на протяжении многих лет.

Противоречиво был воспринят и Конгресс-центр, который называют слишком помпезным.
Здание бывшего Федерального собрания (нынешнее новое здание Национального музея) на верхнем конце Вацлавской площади в Праге, произведение архитектора Карела Прагера, считают шрамом на лице города. Однако оно имеет и своих сторонников, потому что является ярким примером архитектуры своего времени.

Отдельное место занимает здание отеля "Crowne Plaza"в сталинском духе, вдохновленное подобными постройками в Москве. В пражскую архитектуру оно не вписывалось уже в период своего создания, и, несмотря на все усилия, не может вписаться и сейчас.

Здания с вопросами и без

К зданиям, воспринятым с незначительными оговорками (но все равно с оговорками) относится, например,  Новая сцена Национального театра, торговый центр "Котва" на площади Республики в Праге или телевизионная башня в пражском районе Жижков, с ее 216 метрами, являющаяся самым высоким зданием Праги; с ней, вероятно, гости столицы смирились благодаря ресторанам и террасам с фантастическим видом. Жителям Праги пришлось к ней привыкнуть.

К тому наилучшему, что принесла эпоха коммунизма, относится телевышка на горе Йештед, получившая престижную награду Перре, и здание бывшего ресторана "Экспо 58" в Праге, район Летна, которое продолжило традиции чешского авангарда.

Ваши любимые

Architecture of the Communist era

Television transmitter on Ještěd Mountain
13. 2. 2014

For some drab, unattractive concrete, for other exotic and full of interesting contrasts – what buildings were left behind by the Communist era?

The years between the end of the Second World War and the Velvet Revolution in 1989 saw the creation of both valued buildings and buildings that maybe shouldn’t have been built in the first place. Amongst the former is, for example, the television transmitter on Ještěd Mountain and amongst the latter, the grey characterless buildings with zero imagination, is Restaurace Expo 58.

Tower blocks and ‘Pakul’

The most visible buildings from the Communist era are the tower blocks and vast housing estates surrounding town peripheries. These structures have received a number of unflattering nicknames, from concrete jungles to steel cities. You’ll be lucky to find at least one town without a tower block in the Czech Republic. These structures are, unfortunately, extraordinarily long-lasting and they’ll be with us for a years to come.

The Congress Centre, labelled oversized, was received with mixed reactions, too. The building of the former Federal Congress – now the New Building of the National Museum – at the upper end of Wenceslas Square in Prague, designed by architect Karel Prager, has been called a scar on the face of Prague. At the same time, however, it has its supporters, being a first-rate example of the architecture of its time.

A special status is enjoyed by the Hotel Crowne Plaza, built in the Stalinist style and inspired by similar structures in Moscow; even at the time it was built, it didn’t fit in with Prague architecture and, despite all efforts, still doesn’t.

Structures with and without a question mark

Amongst the structures accepted with minor reservations (but reservations nevertheless) are, for example, the New Stage of the National Theatre, the Kotva department store on Náměstí Republiky in Prague and the TV tower in Žižkov, at 216 m the tallest structure in Prague, which makes up for its shortcomings with its restaurant and terrace with its fantastic view; Praguers have just had to get used to it.

Amongst the best Communist-era buildings in the Czech Republic is the TV transmitter on Ještěd Mountain, awarded the prestigious Perret prize, and the former Expo 58 restaurant in Letná park in Prague, which carried on from the Czech avant-garde tradition.

Your favourites