Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Our LordChurch of the Most Sacred Heart of Our Lord1
Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Our LordChurch of the Most Sacred Heart of Our Lord2
Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Our LordChurch of the Most Sacred Heart of Our Lord3
Granite obelisk adjacent to the Cathedral of St. VitusGranite obelisk adjacent to the Cathedral of St. Vitus4
03.10.2013

Архитектура Йоже Плечника

Исключительная личность в необычное время - архитектор Пражского Града Йоже Плечник

После создания независимой Чехословакии в 1918 году, Пражский Град стал резиденцией президентов. Первый из них, Томаш Гаррик Масарик, назначил ответственным за оформление территории комплекса словенского архитектора и градостроителя Йоже Плечника (1872–1957). До 1934 года он был архитектором Пражского Града.

Архитектор президента

„Из этого замка и его окрестностей может получиться историческая достопримечательность, и я не знаю ни о ком другом, кто смог бы это сделать, кроме вас" - написал Масарик Плечнику, который тогда работал в Высшей школе прикладного искусства профессором декоративной архитектуры. Их сотрудничество привело к ряду изменений в интерьерах и экстерьерах  Пражского Града. Работой Плечника является, например, Колонный зал с медным потолком у входа в Испанский зал, Бычья лестница, соединяющая южные сады с Третьим двором Града, или гранитный обелиск 18 м высоты у кафедрального собора св. Вита. С исключительным чутьем на слияние нового и старого в гармоничное целое, Плечник оформил также сады вокруг Града, квартиру президента и летнюю резиденцию в Ланах.

Церковь как корабль

Плечник был очень религиозным человеком; может быть, поэтому его наилучшими произведениями являются культовые строения. Великолепная работа архитектора - Церковь Пресвятого Сердца Господня на Виноградах, красивейшая современная церковь в Праге, напоминающая мистические конструкции Древнего Египта. Широкая колокольня, 42 м высоты с медным куполом и крестом, в панораме Праги видна даже из Пражского Града.

Почерк Плечника заметен и в оригинальном интерьере церкви, прообразом которой был Ноев Ковчег. Над главным алтарем из белого шумавского мрамора парит позолоченная фигура Христа в символическом сердце, в сопровождении шести чешских святых. Примечательной также является и белая площадка возвышающейся звонницы.

The architecture of Jože Plečnik

Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Our Lord
3. 10. 2013

An exceptional personality at an exceptional time – Jože Plečnik, architect of Prague Castle

Following the creation of an independent Czechoslovakia in 1918, Prague Castle became the place of residence of the President of Czechoslovakia. The first president, Tomáš Garrigue Masaryk, entrusted the modification of the castle complex to Slovene architect and urban planner, Jože Plečnik (1872–1957), who then remained the Prague Castle architect until 1934.

The President’s architect

“This castle and its surroundings can become a site of massive historical interest, and I know of no-one else who could manage it but you,” wrote Masaryk to Plečnik, who was at the time working as a professor of decorative architecture at the Academy of Applied Arts in Prague. Cooperation between Masaryk and Plečnik resulted in a number of modifications to the interiors and exteriors of Prague Castle. Amongst Plečnik’s works are, for example, the Hall of Columns (Sloupová síň) with its copper ceiling at the entrance to the Spanish Hall, the Bull Steps (Býčí schodiště), which connects the southern garden with the third courtyard, and the 18 m high granite obelisk adjacent to the Cathedral of St. Vitus. Plečnik brought his exceptional feeling for the connection of old and new into a harmonic whole to bear in the modification of the circuit of gardens around the Castle, presidential apartment and summer residence in Lány.

The church as a boat

Plečnik was a devout believer; perhaps it is for this reason that amongst the very best of his creations are sacral buildings. One remarkable work of Plečnik’s is the Church of the Most Sacred Heart of Our Lord in Vinohrady, the most beautiful modern church in Prague, reminiscent of the mystical structures of Ancient Egypt. The broad, 42 m high bell-tower, with its copper dome and crucifix, can be seen in the Prague panorama from as far away as Prague Castle.

Plečnik’s signature can also be seen in the original  church interior, based on Noah’s Ark. Over the main altar made from white Šumava marble is suspended a gilded figure of Christ within a symbolic heart, supplemented by the figures of six Czech saints. Unusual as well is the white ramp leading up to the bell-tower.

Your favourites